The Complete Kant

The Complete Kant or one year without telling a lie.

Cathal Morrow‘s inspiration, Immanuel Kant, to succeed in completing a year without telling a lie.

The philosopher Immanuel Kant said that lying was always morally wrong.

(…)

I’ve just completed a year trying not to tell a single lie. I failed, of course, I told three – but I’ve succeeded in ways I could never have expected.

Not lying for a year was my commitment to finding truth. It was a rough old ride at times, but I’ve discovered some pretty amazing things. The last year hasn’t changed my life – the death of my father, meeting my wife, the birth of my kids, these things changed my life – but my life is changing every day.

And of course I’m going to continue trying to tell the truth. Because I’ve learnt truth as we see it isn’t really truth at all.

Because Truth can never be a lie.

Wikipedia about lie = A lie (also called prevarication, falsehood) is a type of deception in the form of an untruthful statement, especially with the intention to deceive others, often with the further intention to maintain a secret or reputation, protect someone’s feelings or to avoid a punishment or repercussion for one’s actions. To lie is to state something that one knows to be false or that one does not honestly believe to be true with the intention that a person will take it for the truth.

Always tell the truth. That way you don’t have to remember what you said.–Mark Twain

What about you ? Could you do that ?

Leave a Reply

